Jon has been encouraging me to make a cinnamon ice cream from the moment I brought home my ice cream maker. I finally decided it was time to indulge my guy. I conveniently had some leftover pumpkin and this got me to thinking a Vegan Cinnamon Pumpkin Ice Cream could be a nice combination. Perfect for Fall and perfect for Jon.
One goal I had for this ice cream was to make it nice and creamy. After doing a bit of research and experimentation I’ve discovered a few things.
- First, using a fuller fat milk provides a creamier base. So for this recipe I’m using regular canned coconut milk, not the lite stuff.
- Second, adding a little bit of cornstarch will help thicken the ice cream base, making it creamier.
- Third, adding a little alcohol also helps to prevent the ice cream from fully freezing (because alcohol doesn’t freeze).
- In a small bowl, whisk together the cornstarch with ¼ cup of the coconut milk, until the cornstarch is dissolved. Set aside
- In a medium size saucepan, whisk together the remaining coconut milk, pumpkin, maple syrup, agave nectar, vanilla, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Heat over medium heat and continue whisking until the mixture starts to bubble.
- Reduce the heat to low and slowly whisk in the cornstarch mixture. Continue to simmer for about 3 to 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and chill the mixture completely.
- Once chilled, whisk in the Grand Marnier.
- Pour liquid into your ice cream machine bowl, and churn for about 30 minutes, or according to manufacturer’s instructions. Serve immediately.
- If you’d like a firmer consistency, transfer into a freezer safe container with lid, and freeze for about two hours to thicken.
note about Grand Marnier: Alcohol is something of a debate among celiac’s. Most authorities say that drinking distilled alcoholic beverages are safe for people with celiac disease, because distillation is said to remove all gluten protein from the alcohol, rendering it gluten-free. As always, I would use your personal discernment. I have no problem with Grand Marnier but only you know if your body will tolerate this alcohol. Please use your best judgement. Here is a link for more information: http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/copingwiththediet/a/AlcoholicDrinks.htm